Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

ShoutBox!

 

Skhilled

2024-03-24, 09:52:09
It may be released as early as today...if we all agree on it. ;)
 

Skhilled

2024-03-24, 09:37:46
Thank you, sir!  :)
 

Ken

2024-03-24, 09:28:38
I like it. Dark themes are not my first choice, but I like the crisp, clean lines.  :thumbup:
 

Skhilled

2024-03-24, 08:56:28
The original theme is here:

https://www.jpr62.com/demos/index.php
 

Skhilled

2024-03-24, 08:53:17
You can always see the latest previews here but registration is disabled:

https://skhilled.com/cztest/index.php
 

Ken

2024-03-24, 08:50:36
Any previews yet?
 

Skhilled

2024-03-24, 08:46:18
We almost have another theme completed.  :laugh:
 

Skhilled

2024-03-24, 08:45:18
What's up, bro?  :drinking:
 

Ken

2024-03-24, 08:42:45
Hi Steve.  :)
 

Skhilled

2024-02-21, 21:11:25
I missed that one. LOL

Recent Topics

TP Articles


Search in titles
Search in article texts

Author Topic: How To Force HTTP to HTTPS  (Read 16857 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Skhilled (OP)

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8972
  • Gender: Male
  • All of my passwords are protected by amnesia...
  • View Gallery
    • Buildz Hosting
How To Force HTTP to HTTPS
« on: May 05, 2017, 04:28:39 PM »
First, you must have a SSL certificate installed! I highly suggest Let's Encrypt...it's free!!! If your hosting does not already have it installed ask them to install it.

https://letsencrypt.org/

Even if you have a SSL installed, you and your visitors can still view the HTTP part of your site. To prevent this, you can create a .htaccess file and put it in your root directory where your domain resides. You should add the following code to it:

Code: [Select]
RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTPS} off
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ https://%{HTTP_HOST}%{REQUEST_URI} [L,R=301]

If you already have a .htaccess file you'll want to add ONLY the 2nd and 3rd lines directly after the first instance of:

Code: [Select]
RewriteEngine On
This will force all pages of your site to use HTTPS instead of HTTP.

Offline Ken

  • Vietnam Era Veteran
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 11658
  • Gender: Male
  • View Gallery
Re: How To Force HTTP to HTTPS
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2017, 06:32:52 AM »
How do we determine if our host has the SSL certificate is installed?
"Not all who wander are lost."-Tolkien
Yesterday When I was Young.

Offline Skhilled (OP)

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8972
  • Gender: Male
  • All of my passwords are protected by amnesia...
  • View Gallery
    • Buildz Hosting
Re: How To Force HTTP to HTTPS
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2017, 07:18:40 AM »
Look in cPanel. It should be somewhere near the SSL icon and will say "Let's Encrypt".

Offline Ken

  • Vietnam Era Veteran
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 11658
  • Gender: Male
  • View Gallery
Re: How To Force HTTP to HTTPS
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2017, 07:39:11 AM »
Got it.  :thumbup:
"Not all who wander are lost."-Tolkien
Yesterday When I was Young.

Offline Ken

  • Vietnam Era Veteran
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 11658
  • Gender: Male
  • View Gallery
Re: How To Force HTTP to HTTPS
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2017, 07:43:11 AM »
Getting ready to add the code to my .htaccess file now.
"Not all who wander are lost."-Tolkien
Yesterday When I was Young.

Offline Ken

  • Vietnam Era Veteran
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 11658
  • Gender: Male
  • View Gallery
Re: How To Force HTTP to HTTPS
« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2017, 07:59:19 AM »
Quick and easy!
Thanks for this new and useful tip Steve.  :thumbup:
"Not all who wander are lost."-Tolkien
Yesterday When I was Young.

Offline Skhilled (OP)

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8972
  • Gender: Male
  • All of my passwords are protected by amnesia...
  • View Gallery
    • Buildz Hosting
Re: How To Force HTTP to HTTPS
« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2017, 08:04:22 AM »
Something isn't right...look at the lock symbol to the left of the arrow in the image above and in your browser. It's not green and does not say "Secure" like on my site. It may be due to images. If you go to the "Search" page you'll see the difference. It works there.

For instance, go to the "Home" page and you will see it is not secure. Change the image to have "HTTPS" and it should say "Secure".

Offline Ken

  • Vietnam Era Veteran
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 11658
  • Gender: Male
  • View Gallery
Re: How To Force HTTP to HTTPS
« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2017, 08:13:31 AM »
Yeah, I saw that.

How to do this?
Quote
Change the image to have "HTTPS" and it should say "Secure".
"Not all who wander are lost."-Tolkien
Yesterday When I was Young.

Offline Skhilled (OP)

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8972
  • Gender: Male
  • All of my passwords are protected by amnesia...
  • View Gallery
    • Buildz Hosting
Re: How To Force HTTP to HTTPS
« Reply #8 on: May 06, 2017, 08:19:52 AM »
Find the link for the image and change it. It may be due to a link in a mod. For instance, check the settings in your mods and change the URL in the settings, etc. Any images you upload that have a direct link you should make sure they use "HTTPS", etc.

And you have a broken image on the home page now...

Offline Ken

  • Vietnam Era Veteran
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 11658
  • Gender: Male
  • View Gallery
Re: How To Force HTTP to HTTPS
« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2017, 08:27:27 AM »
The home page image was just changed a few minutes ago, so you may need to do a hard refresh.
"Not all who wander are lost."-Tolkien
Yesterday When I was Young.

Offline Ken

  • Vietnam Era Veteran
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 11658
  • Gender: Male
  • View Gallery
Re: How To Force HTTP to HTTPS
« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2017, 08:29:23 AM »
"Not all who wander are lost."-Tolkien
Yesterday When I was Young.

Offline Skhilled (OP)

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8972
  • Gender: Male
  • All of my passwords are protected by amnesia...
  • View Gallery
    • Buildz Hosting
Re: How To Force HTTP to HTTPS
« Reply #11 on: May 06, 2017, 08:37:38 AM »
The image is but the page itself is not showing it for some reason...

Offline Ken

  • Vietnam Era Veteran
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 11658
  • Gender: Male
  • View Gallery
Re: How To Force HTTP to HTTPS
« Reply #12 on: May 06, 2017, 08:44:21 AM »
It may be the 'Our FamilyForum' banner, I'm working on that now.
"Not all who wander are lost."-Tolkien
Yesterday When I was Young.

Offline Skhilled (OP)

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 8972
  • Gender: Male
  • All of my passwords are protected by amnesia...
  • View Gallery
    • Buildz Hosting
Re: How To Force HTTP to HTTPS
« Reply #13 on: May 06, 2017, 08:45:49 AM »
I've already changed the logo in the theme's settings after you installed AutoSSL. ;)

EDIT: I just went through all of the admin and changed all of the mods and admin settings that needed changing. I think there may be some theme issues...
« Last Edit: May 06, 2017, 08:53:14 AM by Skhilled »

Offline Ken

  • Vietnam Era Veteran
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 11658
  • Gender: Male
  • View Gallery
Re: How To Force HTTP to HTTPS
« Reply #14 on: May 06, 2017, 08:55:55 AM »
We must have been working on the logo at the same time.  laughing7

Here's the current URL for the logo. I uploaded it to the gallery and that's being used now instead of the TinyPic link.
"Not all who wander are lost."-Tolkien
Yesterday When I was Young.