Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

ShoutBox!

 

Ken

2021 Mar 19 03:46:54
 

Skhilled

2021 Mar 14 14:19:39
 :2funny:
 

Ken

2021 Mar 14 11:04:40
 

Skhilled

2021 Feb 02 11:44:35
YEAH!
 

Ken

2021 Feb 01 08:17:28
Black History Month
Starts today!
 

Ken

2021 Jan 21 12:38:16
 

Ken

2021 Jan 13 08:33:33
 

Skhilled

2021 Jan 02 10:25:49
I didn't realized that I was still logged in here. LOL
 

Ken

2021 Jan 02 08:06:53
Happy New Years!!!  laughing7
 

Skhilled

2021 Jan 01 02:24:34
Happy New Years, sleepy head! ;D

Recent Topics

Author Topic: Getting this: Error SQL query  (Read 1625 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Ken (OP)

  • Vietnam Era Veteran
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9971
  • Gender: Male
  • View Gallery
Getting this: Error SQL query
« on: February 04, 2020, 12:23:31 PM »
I'm trying to set up XAMPP/SMF/TP on my laptop and import the OFF database into the install and the error message shown below pops up.   
Do you think that the 'aeva' tables can just be dropped(deleted) and not cause any issues with the forum? It has been several years since the avera software was uninstalled, but the tables remain eventhough they are unused.
Quote
Error

SQL query:

CREATE TABLE `smf_aeva_perms` (
 `id_group` int(11) NOT NULL default 0,
 `id_profile` int(11) NOT NULL default 0,
 `permission` varchar(255) NOT NULL default '',
 PRIMARY KEY (`id_group`, `id_profile`, `permission`)
) ENGINE=MyISAM

MySQL said: Documentation
#1071 - Specified key was too long; max key length is 1000 bytes
"Not all who wander are lost."-Tolkien
Yesterday When I was Young.

Offline Skhilled

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6621
  • Gender: Male
  • Once you stop trying to learn, you stop living!
  • View Gallery
    • Buildz Hosting
Re: Getting this: Error SQL query
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2020, 08:00:35 AM »
If the mod has been uninstalled then, yes, you can remove the tables. However, if you are getting errors in the forum logs something is still trying to call it. There's possibly still some code leftover somewhere that wasn't removed.

Online Ken (OP)

  • Vietnam Era Veteran
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9971
  • Gender: Male
  • View Gallery
Re: Getting this: Error SQL query
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2020, 08:08:51 AM »
OK, but should these calls be happening on a database upload? All that the XAMPP install contains now is a basic SMF/TP install and when you download a backup of the OFF db and try to load it into this basic XAMPP install it will not go and gives the error that is in the first post here.
"Not all who wander are lost."-Tolkien
Yesterday When I was Young.

Offline Skhilled

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6621
  • Gender: Male
  • Once you stop trying to learn, you stop living!
  • View Gallery
    • Buildz Hosting
Re: Getting this: Error SQL query
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2020, 08:34:46 AM »
Hmmm, I see. Try deleting the avea tables and see if that helps. If not to a repair on the db in cpanel then download a new copy of the db.

Online Ken (OP)

  • Vietnam Era Veteran
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9971
  • Gender: Male
  • View Gallery
Re: Getting this: Error SQL query
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2020, 08:58:12 AM »
OK, I'll try that... first do a backup of the current db, then dropping the avea tables and trying a copy of that db and then as you suggest, do a repair if needed.
"Not all who wander are lost."-Tolkien
Yesterday When I was Young.

Offline Skhilled

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6621
  • Gender: Male
  • Once you stop trying to learn, you stop living!
  • View Gallery
    • Buildz Hosting
Re: Getting this: Error SQL query
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2020, 08:59:27 AM »
A repair can't hurt. ;)

Online Ken (OP)

  • Vietnam Era Veteran
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9971
  • Gender: Male
  • View Gallery
Re: Getting this: Error SQL query
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2020, 09:12:51 AM »
"Not all who wander are lost."-Tolkien
Yesterday When I was Young.

Online Ken (OP)

  • Vietnam Era Veteran
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9971
  • Gender: Male
  • View Gallery
Re: Getting this: Error SQL query
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2020, 06:05:49 PM »
Umm... now it's giving me an error for the `smf_arcade_game_info`

After downloading a backup of the db, then dropping the avea db tables, I then downloaded a copy of the db and tried to load it into XAMPP and got the error below. At least it's not showing avea any more.  laughing7
"Not all who wander are lost."-Tolkien
Yesterday When I was Young.

Offline Skhilled

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6621
  • Gender: Male
  • Once you stop trying to learn, you stop living!
  • View Gallery
    • Buildz Hosting
Re: Getting this: Error SQL query
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2020, 09:55:14 AM »
1.  Did you do a repair?

2.  What db are you using in XAMPP? The server is using MariaDB. That may be the difference.

Online Ken (OP)

  • Vietnam Era Veteran
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9971
  • Gender: Male
  • View Gallery
Re: Getting this: Error SQL query
« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2020, 11:16:45 AM »
1.  Did you do a repair?

2.  What db are you using in XAMPP? The server is using MariaDB. That may be the difference.

1/ ... yes
2/ ... that name is not showing up in any of the 'Format' or 'Format-specific options' that I'm seeing


It is still giving me the same error when trying to install a copy of the OFF db into XAMPP.
"Not all who wander are lost."-Tolkien
Yesterday When I was Young.

Offline Skhilled

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6621
  • Gender: Male
  • Once you stop trying to learn, you stop living!
  • View Gallery
    • Buildz Hosting
Re: Getting this: Error SQL query
« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2020, 08:54:37 AM »
The version of XAMPP will determine what version/type of db, PHP, etc, you are using. I.E.:

This or this...or a different version.

Online Ken (OP)

  • Vietnam Era Veteran
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9971
  • Gender: Male
  • View Gallery
Re: Getting this: Error SQL query
« Reply #11 on: February 09, 2020, 02:25:52 PM »
Thanks for those links.
The version that I was using was older (how did that happen?  :o) and updating to a newer version (x64-7.4.2-0-VC15) got me closer. Uploading a copy of the OFF DB to XAMPP goes through OK and then the tables show up in PHPMyAdmin, but the site is just showing the basic new SMF/TP install and not showing the OFF copy.

Gotta do more research to find out what I'm doing wrong now.
"Not all who wander are lost."-Tolkien
Yesterday When I was Young.

Online Ken (OP)

  • Vietnam Era Veteran
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9971
  • Gender: Male
  • View Gallery
Re: Getting this: Error SQL query
« Reply #12 on: February 09, 2020, 03:16:11 PM »
Tried running 'repair_settings.php' on the XAMPP install just in case that might help... no joy there.
"Not all who wander are lost."-Tolkien
Yesterday When I was Young.

Offline Skhilled

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 6621
  • Gender: Male
  • Once you stop trying to learn, you stop living!
  • View Gallery
    • Buildz Hosting
Re: Getting this: Error SQL query
« Reply #13 on: February 10, 2020, 02:28:52 AM »
Are you installing smf using a fresh "install" copy or using an "upgrade" copy? You should be using an upgrade version of smf otherwise smf will create it's own new db.

You have to create your own new, empty db, import the OFF db to phpmyadmin then upload the upgrade smf files. Delete the "upgrade.*" files and the ".sql" files from the root folder. You'll also need to add your own two Settings.* files  Then run repair_settings.php. You should now have an exact working copy of your forum.

Online Ken (OP)

  • Vietnam Era Veteran
  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 9971
  • Gender: Male
  • View Gallery
Re: Getting this: Error SQL query
« Reply #14 on: February 10, 2020, 01:10:34 PM »
Are you installing smf using a fresh "install" copy or using an "upgrade" copy? You should be using an upgrade version of smf otherwise smf will create it's own new db.

You have to create your own new, empty db, import the OFF db to phpmyadmin then upload the upgrade smf files. Delete the "upgrade.*" files and the ".sql" files from the root folder. You'll also need to add your own two Settings.* files  Then run repair_settings.php. You should now have an exact working copy of your forum.
OK, gonna give this a try.
"Not all who wander are lost."-Tolkien
Yesterday When I was Young.